The Outer Bay

The outer bay of Cartagena de Indias includes the islands of Tierrabomba, Barú and Manzanillo, where the Spanish Crown constructed several of the most powerful fortresses of the Colony, among them the Castle of San Luis, destroyed by the Englishman, Edward Vernon in 1741; the Fort of San Fernando, the Fort of San José, the Battery-Fort of the Ángel San Rafael, the Battery of Santa Barbara, as well as the batteries of Santiago, Chamba and San Felipe.

With this group of fortresses they were seeking to make Cartagena Bay invincible while preventing any unauthorized access of vessels to the city.
Also, in the outer bay, several ovens for baking lime were built and quarries exploited to supply the necessary materials to proceed with the project of fortifying the city.

a bit history